Mexico celebrates three types of holidays, such as statutory holidays that are seen nationwide and employees receive a day off with regular pay, civic holidays are observed nationwide and workers do not get days off, and festivities that are traditional holidays to honor religious events. Many of the religious celebrations have their roots in the pre-Hispanic era, while the civic holidays reflect some modern historical events. Being that Mexico is a Catholic country, each village and larger cities in the nation have a designated holy personage in whose honor the festivities take place and are traditional to each state.